Sunday, 23 August 2009

RESULTS: Billabong Irish Junior Championship

Irish Surfing Association Press Release

The Billabong Irish Junior Surfing Championships attracted almost one hundred young surfers to Rossnowlagh at the weekend to compete for thirteen coveted national titles in surfing, bodyboarding and longboarding. The Championships run by Rossnowlagh Surf Club and the Irish Surfing Association was sponsored by Billabong, Nixon, Dakine and VZ.
Due to a poor weather forecast for Sunday, contest organisers got the first heats into the water early on Saturday morning with the momentous ambition of running the whole event before night fall. The day kicked off with sunshine and 2ft surf but as heat after heat took to the water torrential rain arrived. This did not dampen the spirits of the young surfers as the wave picked up in the afternoon with the arrival of the rain.
Although the standard was high acroos the event it was particularly evident among the younger surfers. Standouts included Una Britton, Garbhan Mc Closkey and Jack Scott in the U10s and Aron O’Hare and Ayesha Garvey in the U12s and Gearoid Mc Daid in the U14s.
Many of the Denny Irish Junior Surf Team that competed at the World Junior Surfing Championships earlier this year in Ecuador surfed in the National Championships. Their international competitive experience seemed to pay off with all making finals in their respective categories.
The U18 titles went to Cillian Ryan, Wexford in the U18 Boys and local girls, Tahlia Britton in the U18 Girls. Causeway Coast surfer Donal O’Reilly retain his U18 Longboard title and Sligo’s Aaron Devanny took the U18 Bodyboard title.
In the U16 Boys, Billabong Team rider, James Garvey took the title in a closely fought final. Niamh Kelly, Strandhill took the U16 Girls while Bosco Mc Auley, Portrush won the U16 Bodyboard.
Gearoid Mc Daid, Sligo dominated the U14 Boys to clinch the title as did Meadb Mc Closkey, Ballyshannon in the U14 Girls. The U12 Boys title went to Aron O’Hare while Ayesha Garvey had an impressive win in the U12 Girls. Garbhan Mc Closkey won the U10 Boys and Una Britton won the U10 girls.
With fading light and twelve hours of competition completed the presentation was moved indoors to the Surfers Bar as the rain continued to poor outside. At the presentation of awards Rossnowlagh Surf Club Chairman, Kevin Mc Closkey and Secretary Dara O’Malley Daly thanked sponsors, judges, officials, parents and competitors for their part in the success of the event.

Billabong Irish Junior Surfing Championships Results
U18 Boys Surf
1. Cillian Ryan
2. Rory Tuohy
3. Damien Conway
4. Aaron Dees
U18 Girls Surf
1. Tahlia Britton
2. Amy May Garvey
3. Sarah Mc Gowan
U18 Longboard
1. Donal ‘Reilly
2. Maurice Bryson
3. Carl O’Reilly
4. Oisin O’Malley Daly
U18 Boyboard
1. Aaron Devanny
U16 Boys Surf
1. James Garvey
2. Jamie Russell
3. Iarom Madden
4. Cian Logue
U16 Girls Surf
1. Niamh Kelly
2. Fiona Mc Gonigle
3. Audrey Herdman
4. Emily Stewat
U14 Boys Surf
1. Gearoid Mc Daid
2. Donagh Cronin
3. Conor Mc Kinney
4. Brian Mc Gowan
U14 Girls Surf
1. Meave Mc Closkey
2. Graine Mc Gonigle
3. Emer Mc Hugh
4. Danika Maguire
U12 Boys Surf
1. Aron O’Hare
2. Daniel Britton
3. Oisin Roper
4. Michael Hurst
U12 Girls Surf
1. Ayesha Garvey
2. Laoise O’Connor
3. Eva Martin
4. Sophie Scott
U10 Boys Surf
1. Garbhan Mc Closkey
2. Jack Scott
3. Louis Devanney
4. Oran O’Neill
U10 Girls Surf
1. Una Britton
2. Tara Duffy
3. Derbhla Moore
4. Maia Monaghan

No comments:

Post a Comment